Literature

Five…or *cough* Ten Favourite Books (Recommendations)

Here are a list of my 5 favourite books that might interest others. Edit: Because I got overexcited half way through it became my ten book recommendations. It was hard to pick 10 and really I wanted to put Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s books in there as well. So, go read her books too.

Khaled Hosseini – And The Mountains Echoed

Such a breathtakingly beautiful book. Had me crying at work while I was reading it during lunch, oops. Really everything he has written is amazing so it’s difficult to choose a favourite. This book had me in tears. Just looking at the picture below has me tearing up.

81HzGEjCrLL._SL1500_

Stephen King – Dolores Claiborne

Again I have loved every single Stephen King book I have ever read. The Shining was the first book that was actually truly frightening to read (the elevator scene *shudder*). But Dolores Claiborne was probably the best I ever read. Initially, since the book was just her speaking, I thought it might be a struggle to read, but I couldn’t put it down. I couldn’t shut up about it either.

DoloresClaiborneNovel

Markus Zusak – The Book Thief

Do I have the proper words to describe the beauty of this book? I’m not sure so I do just say read it. You won’t ever regret giving some of your time to this book.

51A99teA6iL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Margaret Mitchell – Gone With The Wind

A truly good book, with brilliant characters.

gone_custom-c69deb1060b72488b0e0e121e3a3be786312828c-s6-c30

A.J. Cronin – The Citadel 

When I read the summary I can’t say it struck me as very interesting but with AJ Cronin looking at the summary seems like a waste of time. For me, a person who relies heavily on the summary when deciding whether to read a book it was hard to get pass that but I had been told it was amazing. Before you make your judgement read it a little. You’ll soon get sucked in! It’ll make you so furious. But for me the sign of a good book is feeling a strong connection to the characters and feeling happy/sad/angry while reading it.

467_title

A.J. Cronin – Hatter’s Castle

Again, the summary really doesn’t do justice to this book. It was the first A.J. Cronin I read because it was recommended to me. Read the summary, thought “meh” and only started reading it because one the characters was Irish. It was a magnificent book and it made me so angry. Not recommended if you like fairytale endings.

7954352530_459d9c91a7

Nnedi Okorafor – Who Fears Death

Brilliant book. I’m not very into sci fi fiction and this has elements of that and magic but I really enjoyed this book. It’s brilliant.

7767021

Kathyrn Stockett – The Help

Brilliant and funny book. I know there has been some backlash over her writing this book – a white woman raised by black domestic help from their perspective. But this book had me in stitches and tears.

download

Mario Puzo – The Godfather

The film is brilliant and the book is even better. I’m so glad I read it. As a big Godfather fan and having seen the films first it didn’t ruin the book for me at all.

Godfather-Novel-Cover

Leon Uris – Mila 18

Even though it’s fictional it’s quite  historical accurate and a fascinating read. Very enjoyable book.

mila-181

Leave a comment below and let me know your favourite books/recommendations you might have. 🙂 – Mínseach

Leave a Reply

