Uncategorized · World

THINX: A Good Choice, Period.

I’ve looked this product up on a number of occasions, but I’ve always been put off getting a pair to try them out. For anyone that isn’t aware Thinx are a brand that makes underwear with a built in pad for menstruation*

*If the word or thought of menstruation makes you quiver then please stop reading and feel free to go back to your make believe island where women do not have any bodily functions that you may find offensive.

I only received it today so I’m quite eager to try it out and see how it works. I had  bought the menstrual cup but I was having a lot of trouble using it and generally found it uncomfortable, which disappointed me as I really want to invest in something that minimizes impact on the environment and is reusable. I’m actually on the third day of my period as it is (If offended by this information, please see above), so it will give me some idea without me having to be too concerned that it may fail if it were any heavier. I using it today too as I’m off work so I can see how I get on without concerns of thinking that it might leak. They do seem to suggest that it can be supplemented on heavy days with a tampon/pad if desired so it is worth seeing in a safer  environment how much it can hold. As far as quality goes it’s quite comfortable – really it just feels like normal underwear. It’s also breathable (95% cotton) and anti-bacterial. To wash it all it needs is a cold wash and to be hung to dry.

Now, for the real piece that sealed the deal for me: Not only is it more environmentally friendly, but funds from purchasing the underwear go to communities in Uganda (AFRIPAD) to help teach girls to manufacture reusable pads. A common problem with school-going girls in Uganda is missing classes because they are reluctant to go to school on their period. This may seem like a small thing, but it has a big impact on the progress of women in those societies, so I’m glad to be supporting that in any way I can. To add to this, the underwear is also made by small communities of women in a fair and safe workplace. Seems all around a very good product to me, and one I am happy to support if it means supporting another community or allows just one girl to get an education.

Here’s a link to the website if you wish to check ’em out 🙂 : https://www.shethinx.com/pages/faq

Leave a Reply

